

Back row (left to right): Dr. Andres Pagan, School of Optometry; Dr. Timothy Wingert, Dean, University of The Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry; Dr. Roger Boltz, Interim Dean, University of Houston College of Optometry; Dr. Donald Jarnagin, Dean, Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry; Dr. John Flanagan, Dean, University of California at Berkeley School of Optometry; Dr. Joseph Zinkovich, Acting Associate Dean, MCPHS University School of Optometry; Dr. Arol R. Augsburger, President, Illinois College of Optometry; Dr. Douglas K. Penisten, Dean, Northeastern State University Oklahoma College of Optometry; Dr. Larry J. Davis, Dean, University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry.

Middle row (left to right): Dr. Kelly Nichols, Dean, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry; Dr. Stanley Woo, Dean, Southern California College of Optometry at Marshall B. Ketchum University; Dr. Lori Grover, Dean, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Dr. Clifford Scott, President, The New England College of Optometry; Marty Wall, ASCO Executive Director; Dr. David A. Damari, Dean, Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University; Dr. David S. Loshin, Dean, Nova Dr. Karla Zadnik, Dean and Professor, The Ohio State University College of Optometry.

The Board of Directors of the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) held its 73rd annual meeting June 24-25 in Philadelphia.

Officers for the 2014-2015 fiscal year were elected by the Board of Directors. They are: President Dr. Jennifer Coyle (formerly Dr. Smythe), Dean, Pacific University College of Optometry, who was re-elected Dean, Inter American University of Puerto Rico to a second one-year term; President-Elect Dr. Richard Phillips, President, Southern College of Optometry; Immediate Past-President Dr. David Heath, President, State University of New York College of Optometry; Secretary-Treasurer Dr. Joseph A. Bonanno, Dean, Indiana University School of Optometry; and At-Large Member Dr. Elizabeth Hoppe, Founding Dean, Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry.

> The Association also welcomed a number of new members to the Board of Directors who were participating in their first Board meeting or who began July 1. They are: Dr. John Flanagan, Dean, University of California at Berkeley School of Optometry; Dr. Lori Grover, Dean, Pennsylvania College of Optometry at Salus University; Dr. Kelly Nichols, Dean, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry; Dr. Timothy Wingert, Dean, University of The Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry; Dr. Karla Zadnik, Dean, The Ohio State University College of Optometry; and Dr. Joseph Zinkovich, Acting Associate Dean, MCPHS University School of Optometry.

Dr. Coyle began the meeting looking back on her previous year as President. She discussed her accomplishments and activities, which include promoting interprofessional education, extending Southeastern University College of Optometry; ASCO's voice through numerous media interviews and press communications, and the recently launched Front row (left to right): Dr. Elizabeth Hoppe, Founding Dean, Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry; Dr. Joseph A. Bonanno, Dean, Indiana University School of Optometry; Dr. Jennifer Coyle, Dean, Pacific University College of Optometry; Dr. Richard Phillips, President, Southern College of Optometry; Dr. David A. Heath, President, State University of New York College of Optometry.

National Eye Care Workforce Study.

Other highlights from the two-day meeting include:

• The Board directed a newly established subcommittee of ASCO's Residency Affairs Committee, chaired by Dr. Stanley Woo, to develop a definition of "Advanced Competencies" and to begin defining the steps required to achieve Advanced Competencies.



At its annual meeting in June, the ASCO Board of Directors presented Dr. Karla Zadnik (center) with two Resolutions, one congratulating The Ohio State University College of Optometry on its 100th anniversary and one honoring her upon her induction into the National Optometry Hall of Fame. Dr. Zadnik is pictured with ASCO President Dr. Jennifer Coyle and Dr. Larry Davis, Dean, University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry.

• The Board embr aced an Ameri can Opto metri c

Assoc iation (AOA) pilot progr am for stude nts on the feder al legisl ative proce SS and

healt h policy issue s that affect them as stude nts and as future practi tioner s. **ASCO** 's Gover nmen Affair Com mitte e will work with AOA staff on devel oping the progr

am.

• The Board began a dialogue on the potential impact of the Affordable Care Act on how member schools prepare graduates for its potential impact and the plethora of issues surrounding it.

- Presentations were given on updates to the ASCO multiyear applicant development project, AOA's InfantSEE children's vision program, and the latest news from corporate contributors Accutome Inc., Topcon Medical Systems and Volk Optical Inc.
- Two Board development presentations were given by ASCO staff members: "ASCO 101: A Brief Introductory Overview and Refresher for New and Not so New Board Members" by Marty Wall, CAE, ASCO Executive Director, and "ASCO Data and Surveys Overview: Importance and Role of the Dean or President" by Joanne Zuckerman, Manager, Data Services and Special Projects.



Dr. Arol Augsburger (center, pictured with Dr. Jennifer Coyle and Dr. Larry Davis) accepts the resolution congratulating him on his induction into the National Optometry Hall of Fame.

• Through the adoption of Resolutions, the Board celebrated The Ohio State University College of Optometry's 100th anniversary and honored Board members Dr. Arol Augsburger and Dr. Karla Zadnik for their induction into the National Optometry Hall of Fame.

The ASCO Board of Directors meets three times per year. Members will meet next in Denver on Nov. 11, 2014.