

The National Academies of Practice (NAP) inducted several Distinguished Practitioners & Fellows of NAP during a gala banquet on March 18, 2017 in Philadelphia, PA.

They are pictured above top from left to right: Dr. William L. Jones; Dr. Donald Egan (KYCO); Dr. Jeffrey A. Myers; Dr. Brett Bence. Bottom left to right: Dr. Gregory Wolfe (SCO); Dr. Janet L. Leasher (NOVA); Dr. Edward Bennett (UMSL).

Founded in 1981, NAP is an interdisciplinary, nonprofit organization, with membership representing 14 health care professions willing to serve as distinguished advisors to health care policy makers in Congress and elsewhere. The 14 academies of practice within the NAP include: Audiology, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Osteopathic Medicine, Pharmacy, Physical Therapy, Podiatric Medicine, Psychology, Social Work, Speech-Language Pathology and Veterinary Medicine.

Membership in the NAP is an honor extended to those who have excelled in their profession and are dedicated to furthering practice, scholarship and policy in support of interprofessional care. The central purpose of NAP is to advise public policy makers on health care issues using NAP's unique perspective — that of expert practitioners and scholars joined in interdisciplinary dialogue.

New Fellows were inducted following a forum on "Interprofessional Partnerships: Advancing Collaborative Practice, Education, Research and Policy". For more information on nominating potential Fellows to the NAP, call the NAP office at 859-514-9184 or visit www.NAPractice.org.