Salus Pennsylvania College of Optometry Faculty Earn Top Honors at 96th Annual Academy Meeting

by Kim O'Sullivan - Tuesday, November 28, 2017

/4342

Three major awards were presented to PCO faculty members during the American Academy of Optometry's (AAO) 96th annual meeting in Chicago from October 11-14.

Dr. Mitchell Scheiman, dean of Research and Biomedicine program director at Salus, graciously received the Glenn A. Fry Award. The award is given annually to a distinguished scientist for his or her current optometric research and continual contributions to optometry. Since joining the faculty in 1982, Dr. Scheiman has directed several National Eye Institute sponsored research projects at PCO including investigations of convergence insufficiency, amblyopia and myopia and is a nationally recognized expert on convergence insufficiency.

Dr. Lorraine Lombardi, professor emeritus and interim dean of the University's College of Health Sciences, received the Michael G. Harris Award for Excellence in Optometric Education. Award recipients demonstrate "ongoing and consistent excellence in the education of optometry students and/or the advancement of optometric education." Dr. Lombardi has taught for nearly 50 years at Salus PCO, influencing more than 7,000 optometry graduates.

Dr. Luigi Bilotto, adjunct professor at Salus PCO, received the AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to optometry. In addition to his role at Salus PCO, Dr. Bilotto is the director of global education at the Brien Holden Vision Institute and lectures at universities throughout the world about optometry, including the University of Montreal in Canada, the University of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa, the University of Applied Sciences Utrecht in the Netherlands and the University of New South Wales in Australia.