ASCO Annual Meeting Coincides with Association’s 75-Year Anniversary

The Board of Directors of the Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO) met in Boston in June and elected its Executive Committee for fiscal year 2016-2017. The Executive Committee members are:

  • President ‒ Dr. Karla Zadnik, Glenn A. Fry Professor of Optometry and Physiological Optics and Dean, The Ohio State University College of Optometry
  • President-Elect ‒ Dr. David A. Damari, Dean, Michigan College of Optometry at Ferris State University
  • Secretary-Treasurer ‒ Dr. Elizabeth Hoppe, Founding Dean, Western University of Health Sciences College of Optometry
  • At-Large Member ‒ Dr. John Flanagan, Dean, University of California at Berkeley School of Optometry
  • Past-President ‒ Dr. Jennifer Coyle, Dean, Pacific University College of Optometry

Outgoing President Dr. David Heath addressed the Board and “passed the gavel” to Dr. Zadnik, who spoke about her priorities for the upcoming year, which include leading the strategic planning process.

Additional highlights from the meeting include:

  • Dr. James M. Vaught, Executive Director of the American Board of Optometry (ABO) encouraged ongoing communication and collaboration between the ABO and ASCO.
  • Representatives from ASCO Corporate Contributors Essilor of America and VSP Global gave presentations to the Board.
  • Support for the Brien Holden Vision Institute’s Our Children’s Vision campaign was discussed and approved.
  • American Optometric Association staff members provided updates regarding Advocacy Day at the 2017 Optometry’s Meeting.
  • ASCO committees and task forces shared the progress they’re making on various initiatives, including with regard to the Association’s Strategic Plan.
  • A roundtable discussion focused on new Council on Optometric Practitioner Education accreditation criteria and new overtime rules related to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
  • A resolution was read to recognize Dr. Heath upon completion of his term as ASCO President. A resolution was read to recognize Dr. Donald Jarnagin upon his retirement as Dean of Midwestern University Arizona College of Optometry and member of the ASCO Board.

The ASCO Board of Directors is scheduled to meet again in Anaheim, Calif., on Nov. 8, 2016.